Skip to content

Oh Snap!

November 10, 2010

Well I got called out over at Ashvegas for not breaking the news about Pho Fusion’s opening.    I’m not trying to be a news source here, but I guess it is finally opening on November 20.  At this point I’m not holding my breath, however.   Not until I have tasted it for myself will I believe it.

Also, I guess now it’s pretty clear that the secret’s out.  I do not read the Asheville Citizen-Times.   Nor do I plan to start.

I’d like to know what you think about the new Greenlife/Whole Foods hybrid situation.  There was a time when Greenlife was my home away from home.  The cashiers always liked my outfits, the key lime pie was the best in town, and the clientele were my peeps.  But lately.  The snazzy new salad bar looks snazzy enough, but they’ve also raised the price by $1 per pound.  Last night, most of the wines “on special” were over $13, and I became confused about where everything is made.  Let’s say you’re a chicken pot pie.  If you are labeled “Whole Foods,” does that mean you were made at the Greenlife in Asheville?  Or were you shipped from someplace?  Confusion, mass confusion!

Also, Whole Foods is owned by a capitalist, libertarian, conservative climate-change refuter, so let’s just cut the ruse of down homey-liberal-progressive vibes and call a corporate takeover a spade.

At any rate, what are your thoughts, Asheville?  Is Greenlife better than ever?  Should we all get on board because now the employees have benefits and better pay which is better for our town?  Or do you long for the days when you could pick up some ground beef that had been raised down the road at a nearby farm, rather than “USA”.   Cause those days are over.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. VladEmrick permalink
    November 10, 2010 1:29 pm

    When did it become wrong to be a “capitalist”?

    And for guidance on what you can expect to happen, you should check out Raleigh’s Well Spring Grocery, after it was purchased and absorbed by Whole Foods.

  2. November 10, 2010 1:38 pm

    I guess I have to like capitalism since it gives us great restaurants. . . but I object to Greenlife’s portraying itself as community-based, and in some ways it was, but now, instead of the meat giving the name and location of the farm where it was raised, it merely states “USA” on the label.

    I just think Whole Foods is just really really corporate, but tries to fake its customers out into thinking it is “local”, “green”, and “healthy” when it is actually merely “expensive.”

  3. Jessica permalink
    November 10, 2010 2:35 pm

    I didn’t mean for it to sound negative or a “call out” – just knew you were digging on some Pho and waiting for it to open. That’s all – Sorry for the mixup

    • November 10, 2010 3:07 pm

      Jessica, absolutely no worries! I’m actually really thrilled that someone thought of me. Thanks for breathing some life back into this blog, for reals!

  4. sara permalink
    November 10, 2010 5:02 pm

    stopped going to greenlife/whole foods when i went in during the peak of NC apple season, and they had ten choices of apples, but only two from NC. it used to be the opposite. they have cut out so many local farmers, and that was one of my main reasons for going. good thing we’ve got french broad food co-op, earth fare, and an amazing assortment of farmer’s and farmer’s markets in WNC!

  5. November 11, 2010 11:52 am

    I like the merger overall, but I do not like the increased prices. I felt like their prices were already bordering on “too high” before.

  6. November 11, 2010 3:36 pm

    I left my lengthy commentary over at Ashvegas.

    Summary: It gets more depressing every time I go in there. Screw Whole Foods. I’m going back to Earth Fare.

  7. ashevillain permalink
    November 11, 2010 8:50 pm

    Ever since the WF takeover I quit going there and started going to the Westgate Earth Fare. It seems like over that time span it has been getting busier and busier every time I shop there. I wonder if EF will continue to see increased business as WF furthers its ‘gentrification’ of Greenlife?

    Also, does anyone know where can we start a campaign to convince Earth Fare to open a store in the old Tunnel Road Ingles location? Haha. Actually, anywhere on the East Side of town would be great…that’s just the 1st location that came to mind.

  8. eemilla permalink
    November 13, 2010 12:29 pm

    I think Earth Fare is just as corporate and as interested in supporting local and even organic only when it behooves their bottom line. Half of their produce is conventional and not local, and they are very picky about their bag donation program (i.e. not using a bag no longer earns a donation and the donation is a nickel rather than a dime). Although it is nice to have the South Earth Fare over Ingles, the Coop is my store of choice.

  9. Ron Mitchell permalink
    November 15, 2010 4:17 pm

    For good pho, go to the japanese/thai place across from Pack Place, northern most, west side of Biltmore Ave. Not on the menu, but ask for it. Really good.

  10. November 18, 2010 3:29 pm

    Thanks so much for the tip, Ron. Although I tend to be extremely skeptical about places that lump all of Asia into one restaurant. I have found that when this happens, it’s not a well-planned, visionary approach to fusion cuisine, but just a random attempt to throw a bunch of options out there in the hopes that someone will see a familiar word on the menu and feel safe. In these cases, I usually feel that the quality of all the food suffers. But who knows, maybe the people who opened the Japanese place that started offering Thai options on their menu are actually Vietnamese chefs who know how to cook up an authentic pho! I will definitely give it a try.

    • Ron Mitchell permalink
      December 18, 2010 9:58 am

      You’ll be surprised. I’ve had the best pho there is in Seattle when I live there for four months, and except for the fact that the basil leaves this time of year are not the plumb, emerald green ones of a Seattle summer, the rest is pure pho.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

