Skip to content

Pho: Take Two

March 1, 2011

A couple of months ago, I wrote a review over at Ashvegas of Pho Fusion, a newish Vietnamese cafe located in the eclectically random Downtown Market.  Although I was thrilled to add Vietnamese pho to Asheville’s rainbow of fruit flavors, not everything about Pho Fusion was thrilling.  Take note:  things have changed, for the better.  The pho itself was once bland and barebones, during my last two visits I detected savory notes of onion, spice, and perhaps even mint?  In any case, the broth has deepened into a richer, more fulfilling, and hotter bowl of soup.

Also, they’ve augmented their menu with vermicelli noodle bowls!  I was hoping they’d get around to adding vermicelli bun salads to their menu in time for spring, and they are delicious.  Choose from tofu, beef, chicken or shrimp to top your bowl of rice noodles and julienned veggies.  Dash the spiced fish sauce on top and you’ve got an authentic, light, and colorful meal.  They’ve also added some walls to create a homier feel to the cold warehouse, and I noticed an addition of some East-Asian sodas and drinks to accompany your culinary experience.
On two recent occasions I ordered the daily special of a pork and rice dish with a pork quiche.  The pork quiche was exquisite, fluffy and a tad sweet.  I vote the quiche makes it onto the regular menu.  I also noticed an addition of meatballs as a pho option.  Pho fusion is getting it’s act together, way together, and if you were a disgruntled customer their first few weeks, here’s your invitation to give them another chance.  I was so glad I did.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron Mitchell permalink
    March 1, 2011 3:53 pm

    How does pho Fusion’s pho compare to the pho at the sushi place across from Diana Wortham Theater? I assume you’ve tried it there.

    I’ll be out of town for a week or so, so I won’t be able to respond until I’m back home, but I’d love to hear your comparison.

    Thanks … Ron Mitchell

  2. thedj permalink
    March 7, 2011 3:31 pm

    I’m impressed they’e maintained their affordability alongside the increased quality. Thanks for the heads up SWE.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

