Skip to content

She Who Eats Lives!

May 10, 2011

If anyone out there is still reading, hello!

I know this blog, along with so many others, has been gasping and wheezing the long death rattle of literary and food frivolity.  But there’s kind of a good reason.

You see, for a year now, this small town food enthusiast has been preparing for a move to New York City.  Just like I spent my paradoxical decade in Southern Appalachia searching for hints of cosmopolitan worldliness and cultural diversity, in the Big City I plan to seek out authentic community, quaintness, and nature trails.

But mostly, food.  Crazy food.  Woman vs. food.  Food that was created in a science lab, or grown on a rooftop.  My list is long, and the first couple of years will be spent in a mad dash of food tourism, dragging my Partner- in-Dine from borough to borough, from night market to food truck, indulging all gastronomical fantasies that were born in far away lands.  I can’t wait to find my favorite dim sum, my neighborhood West African takeout, and my personal go-to for a slice.  I plan to become the Louis and Clark of urban food exploration, and I’d like to take you with me.  Along with the advent of adventure, I predict my passion for blogging will once again rise to the surface.   Cheers to adventure, and food exploration.  This post has been updated; I’m keeping the name.

Together let us, like the Muppets who’ve gone before, take Manhattan.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ron Mitchell permalink
    May 10, 2011 12:25 pm

    Good luck in the Apple. I love it. Spent my freshman year at Columbia U. at B’way and 116 th St.
    Get ready for the world’s best pizza, bar none!

    • June 22, 2011 12:10 pm

      Hey Ron,

      Thanks so much for the well wishes! I’m sorry I never got back to you about Pho, but didn’t understand that wordpress was saving comments and not approving them, so I didn’t know I had any until today! I think Pho Fusion’s pho is superior to the place across the street from Diana Wortham, but I generally disapprove of restaurants that combine all Asian food under one roof, so it’s more out of principal than anything else. Except I think the soup at Pho Fusion is more flavorful and has more depth than the one at the generic Asian Sushi/Thai/Pho place. Hope that helps!

  2. May 10, 2011 3:08 pm

    Best of luck, Taryn! I am kind of jealous but mostly thrilled for you :)

  3. May 11, 2011 10:09 pm

    Hi There ! In coming up with a new name, it sounds like you might be venturing off to the big city. NY. That being said how about instead of Biting the Apple, at least for the time you are in the big city, naming your blog ” Biting the big Apple!” OK, so you might have to change it a year later, we get to do that right? Just a thought, perhaps a tired thought! Warmly, Maggie

  4. May 16, 2011 1:55 pm

    Congrats on an exciting new chapter in your life! I vote for “Biting the Apple.” Best of luck!

  5. May 18, 2011 3:28 pm

    I love “Biting the Apple”
    Love it!
    I will still follow you because I’ve been to NYC one time and had crappy food because I had no idea where to go. I was stuck in a tourist trap of franchise yucky mucks. I look forward to your tips and ideas on where to eat so that when i come back I can tell the cabbie exactly where to take me!

  6. May 22, 2011 3:45 pm

    Biting the Apple!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

