Skip to content

My Birthday Present

July 3, 2007

All I want for my birthday is people to posts comments on my blog. 

Do you have wonderful restaurant stories, horrific ones ? Cooking advice, impressions, comments, questions???

 Thanks,

Gourmet Grrl

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2007 6:08 pm

    That’s really all you want?

    Well, since the Burmese adventure with you I have only been to three other restaurants. Two are neighborhood joints that are like old friends who never move or switch jobs. They are dependable, comforting, predictable and a tad boring.

    Last week, though, I met my husband downtown at a fabo new Mexican oasis. Oyamel is decorated with pressed metal butterflies and Dia de los Muertos shadow boxes. We sipped agua fresca de sandia and perused a menu full of little-known-to-Americans dishes like chilaquiles and cebollitas. As a somewhat-lapsed Mexiphile, Oyamel was music to my senses. We sampled a bunch of antojitos – chile de jaral con salsa de aguacate en frio (room temperature ancho chile stuffed with shredded beef, tomatoes, and raisins served with a tangy avocado sauce) being the stand-out. Next time you’re in town, you & the DJ must accompany us there.
    http://www.oyamel.com/

    Have a very happy birthday!!

  2. Stacey permalink
    July 4, 2007 4:01 pm

    Happy Birthday dear friend! I want to share that earlier this week I acquired a gift certificate to Modesto for my next-door neighbor. He is a hard-working single father and often helps us with care of Zoe and the chickens when we are out of town. I decided it was time we expressed our gratitude with a night out when we would take care of his 11 year old daughter. We went to see Ratatouille and then asked where she would like to go to dinner. Her choice was her favorite – Doc Chey’s! ( I know you would like her based on that alone, but she is also an amazing actress, playing Scout in SART’s current production of To Kill a Mockingbird!) Dad’s reservation was for 7 and he told me he would be home at 9. I told him not to worry about the time. He got back at 11 saying he completely lost track of time, so taken was he by all the delights the restaurant had to offer. And I feel like you were truly a part of it – I would not have thought to send him there if you hadn’t raved about it. Thanks so much to you! And a very happy birthday! I’m so glad you were born!

  3. Kathryn permalink
    July 6, 2007 3:08 pm

    Happy Birthday! I would comment about your restaurant excitement, but I’ve never been to Portland or Vancouver.

  4. annamatronic permalink
    July 6, 2007 7:22 pm

    Happy birthday, friend! As much as I’d like to add some comment about food, I’m actually eating Captain Crunch cereal as I write this, and I feel that kind of nullifies anything I might have to say. Love you!!

  5. Kimber permalink
    July 6, 2007 8:07 pm

    Happy birthday! I am enjoying the new blog. Let’s see…something wonderful Greg and I have done lately is go out for Kaathi rolls. These delicious treats are flat, greasy naan pancakes, stuffed with spiced potatoes, paneer cheese and eggs (if you want them), then layered with thinly sliced red onions and pungent green sauce. They are only $4 so a terrific cheap date. The only down side is that the line trails out of the door of the tiny upstairs restaurant on Friday and Saturday nights…. but that is just because they are so divinely tasty….

    happy birthday and happy eating! love, Kimber

  6. July 7, 2007 2:02 am

    Hi again!

    Just had to write that I just updated my blog, with lots about growing and eating local food. By the way, thanks so much for mentioning my blog on you sidebar! Hope to see you at Sunny Point tomorrow morning!

  7. rascalgrrl permalink
    July 9, 2007 12:54 am

    I made a really fabulous batch of baba ganouj today. No fine dining lately, but I’ll keep you in mind when I do.

    Hope your birthday was spectacular.

  8. July 11, 2007 2:33 am

    Happy Birthday. I have a little of everything on my blog – cheese-making, attachment issues of adopted children, tomatoes, all sorts of stuff. Come visit.

Leave a Reply

