Skip to content

The Stop, Drop, and Roll

August 16, 2007

I cannot take credit for the title of this post.  BBQ Boy came up with it over dinner the other night as the name of his signature sushi roll, which I believe would involve jalapenos and tobasco.  I’m currently experiencing some angst of the ego with the fact that while I am tempted to divulge my signature sushi roll, I hesitate to give up my current anonymity.  What to do?   

Okay, I’m going to tell you about my roll, but only on one condition.  Wherever you order this roll, you must call it The Gourmet Grrl Roll.  You must write down “Gourmet Grrl Roll” before describing it on paper.  Our goal here is not simply to impart wisdom on a freaking beautiful new sushi experience, but to spread my fame far and wide.  I will do the same for you if you care to share with me your signature roll.  Let the metaphorical massage chain of sushi love begin!

The Gourmet Grrl Roll:

Outside- Shrimp, avocado, shrimp, avocado, a little tobiko (tobiko optional)

Inside- tempura crunchies

 I know this sounds simple, perhaps even boring, but I am telling you the tempura crunchies soak up the soy sauce perfectly, making this a pleasantly textured, mild palate-pleaser for even the staunchest of raw fish cynics.  I suppose you could say the Gourmet Grrl  Roll is the hamburger of sushi. 

For an Adkins version of the Gourmet Grrl Roll, I guess you could use cucumber instead of tempura, but it is not at all the same.  And the tempura must be fresh and hot off the grill.  If you see your Gourmet Grrl Roll waiting up on the counter, grab it before anyone can say “Sushi Happy Hour.”  Which no one ever says here because Asheville doesn’t have one.  Tragic.  The whole she-bang usually costs $5.95, so this would be in addition to a giant specialty roll.  Happy ordering, and don’t forget to send me your signature roll so I can do the same!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. annamatronic permalink
    August 18, 2007 5:53 am

    The AnnaMatronic Roll–

    Outside: avocado, sesame seeds

    Inside: yellowfin tuna, mango, rice

  2. queen kirstifa permalink
    August 20, 2007 5:02 am

    ooh, i’m not sure i know who you are, annamatronic, but i like the cut of your sashimi!

Leave a Reply

