Skip to content

Italian Water Ice Wishes and Fried Shrimp Dreams

August 17, 2007

Yes, I have eaten lately.  But nothing of note, I’m sorry to say.  Tried to go to Bouchon last night for a late dinner (I generally only eat after 8:30pm atleast, often after 10:00pm) only to find they close at 9:00pm on weeknights!!!!  Nights like these I curse the cute, slow, quaintness of Asheville and dream of a noisy, bustling metropolis where food from at least five continents can be found on most street corners well after 11:00pm.   And that’s why I’m off to New Jersey.

 Not really, I’m spending my family vacation on the Eastern shores of yesteryear, where deeply fried food smells waft through the humid heat, and the raspy, nasal echoes of mafia wives screaming at their hoodlum children can be heard from any beach blanket.  My burning question: How can a popular tourist spot less than two hours from the City offer zilch in the way of culinary intrigue?  Actually, Italian water ice is pretty spectacular, if only for its regional charm.  Not to mention, the Best Miniature Golf Course on Earth resides deep in the heart of Long Beach Island’s Strip O’ Crap.   Anyway, if you’re looking for me, that’s where I’ll be.  Desperately seeking out a chowder worth mentioning or a shrimp shack worth remembering, if I can.  Wish me luck.

Due to the sad fact of LBI’s epicurean deficiencies, I have implemented a week-long, family-wide Top Chef Contest.  Everyone has been given their cooking teams and their secret ingredient.  The scores cards will read as follows:

Presentation 30% (imagine the possibilities!)

Ingenuity with use of the secret ingredient 25%

Health and Balance 25%

Taste only 20%

In the tradition of our family plays and skits, I’m hoping to see some shockingly unique examples of food presentation as we fight (most likely to the death) for the title of Top Chef!

I’ll report the winner upon my return.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Pixiedyke permalink
    August 17, 2007 4:29 pm

    Pictures!

  2. queen kirstifa permalink
    August 20, 2007 4:59 am

    this sounds like an excellent way to work through your competition issues.

Leave a Reply

