Skip to content

Tamarind Take 2

September 4, 2007

Sorry, Haters.  I like it.  I really do.

Again, saying Tamarind is the best Thai Restaurant in Asheville is like saying Project Runway is the best reality television show.   Reality shows are simply limp excuses for entertainment brimming with poor artistic quality.  Let’s face it.  In the Thai food realm, it’s slim pickins out here in rural southern Appalachia. 

But I tried it again and I really enjoyed all the dishes I ordered.  The food arrived within 10 minutes of my order, the service was friendly and efficient, and everyone else at the restaurant appeared equally pleased. 

I ordered the curry puffs.  This appetizer seemed to belong a few miles back at India Garden, but no matter, it was a valiant effort that could have been warmer but featured all the right spices and textures.

I moved on the the Tom Kha Gai.  Although they had the soup and chicken all right, I was still mourning the lack of crunchy white onions and fresh mushrooms.  Last time, they were fresh, but not for long, apparently.

I ordered the basil eggplant with pork as my main course.  I thought it was delectably above-average.  The spices were terrific, they did not skimp on the fresh vegetable options, the pork rocked, and the eggplant itself was done well.  My only complaint was the amount of grease.  I have yet to find a Thai restaurant in Asheville that is able to achieve full flavor without intense greasiness.  In my experience, Jai or whatever it’s called can’t achieve the proper flavors, neither can Noi’s, and all the others are just too greasy.  Tamarind was no exception, but I still found the dish overall very good. 

My only real complaint:  The restaurant was so freezing the food cooled almost immediately upon it’s arrival to our table.  Oh, and I should mention the DJ was extremely unhappy with his selection of Pad Kee Mow, the spicy basil rice noodle dish that was neither spicy nor very flavorful at all.  So he may argue that Tamarind is not even a Project Runway equivalent in our area.  I guess you’ll just have to try it for yourself. 

In the meantime, I’ll get back to my DVD of Season 2. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacey permalink
    September 6, 2007 3:22 pm

    My mom passed along Season 1 and 2 of Project Runway and I LOVED it. Even Doug got into it. I need to check on Season 3. I’ve heard that no new season is planned anytime soon. Pity. Do you know any different? I heard Tim Gunn will have a style show on Bravo on Thursday nights – my usual night in Hickory and my only access to cable tv. I’m hoping I’ll be able to see it tonight. Okay, now I’m remembering this is a food blog. I tried to get Doug and Daniel to go to Tamarind with me a few weeks back, but they nixed it, saying it was too far. Now it sounds like I will have no luck if Doug hears about the latest venture with the DJ. Next time you go, call me, okay?

  2. Pixiedyke permalink
    September 6, 2007 10:25 pm

    They are releasing the names of the next contestants tonight on Tim Gunn’s show. 10 pm, Bravo. The premiere, according to Wikipedia, is Wednesday, Oct. 24th.

Leave a Reply

