Skip to content

A Good Day in Asheville

September 20, 2007

Today, I met my artistic hero.  I also had two fabulous meals out. 

Lunch at Nona Mia. 

First off, I appreciated the decor.  Especially compared to it’s predecessor, 28806, which displays ghastly color schemes and prides itself on the, ahem, “art” on its walls.   Nona Mia, located where Wing Stop used to be, is a beacon among the greasy, tasteless void that is Patton Avenue.   The menu is nothing short of fantastic.  Pasta dishes that delight both the basic pasta lover and the gourmet, and salads.  Lots of salads!  More than two salad options!  I am constantly seeking a salad to beat them all, and I may have landed on the very thing.    I ordered the chicken and spinach bowtie pasta bowl adorned with roasted tomatoes, all of it resting in a light pesto broth.  I thought it was spicy, the pasta was cooked perfectly, the chicken was roasted in olive oil, and the whole thing worked perfectly.  It reminded me of an abstract painting: I could have made this dish myself at home, but the point is, I didn’t.  They did.  My companion had the balsamic chicken sandwich and declared it outstanding.  And they offer cannoli!  I don’t think I’ve had fresh cannoli anywhere here.  The prices were totally reasonable, and the service was spot-on.  I think we have a winner, here.  I will certainly be back for more.

Tonight I saw John Waters.  He was witty, sweet, disgusting, shocking, gross, offensive, endearing, thrilling, galvanizing, hilarious, and lovely.  I love him I love him I love him.  I love him.  Would that I had made Pecker.  My hero in life is his character Chrissie in that movie, who is completely addicted to sugar to the point where she eats it raw at midnight (did it) and then moves on to snorting peas and trying to mainline veggies as her next food addiction.  Sound familiar?  The scene where she attacks her mother upon her return from the grocery store, yelping and jumping up and down for the sugar cereal and soda brings tears of recognition to my eyes.  Sigh.  I could go on about this, but enough.  More food news.

Dinner at The Usual Suspects.

Hands down the best late night food in town, “The Us” as we call it (pronounced “Youj”) never disappoints.  I ordered the grilled mahi tacos, which were exactly what I needed in that moment.   A nice, thick, healthy-tasting grilled cut of mahi-mahi paired perfectly with the homemade guacamole, salsa, and rice and beans mixture.  They have a great wheat beer at the moment called Bell’s “Oberon.”  Bell’s is a Michigan brewery that apparently makes a terrific American wheat beer.  Yum.  My companion got the ever reliable burger and a Catawba Valley Brown Bear ale.  I normally don’t go for super-dark beers, but this one is cold, smooth, and chocolatey with not much bite to it.  A sweet night overall.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2007 1:36 pm

    Thanks for mentioning the cannoli. I hope to sample it soon.

  2. September 20, 2007 5:14 pm

    Was that John Waters peeking through our suburban Chicago kitchen window? Chrissie could not have been more spot on. “Sugar!! Give me Sugar!!”

  3. September 21, 2007 2:11 pm

    congrats on the nomination for Best New Blog! well deserved

  4. September 21, 2007 8:58 pm

    I’ll have to try Nona Mia.

    Usual Suspects’ burger is one of my favorites in town–with bleu cheese and sweet potato fries. Unfortunately, the two block walk between there and my house isn’t enough to burn off more than 1/2 a fry.

    Yes also to Catawba Valley’s Brown Bear Ale!!

  5. September 24, 2007 5:18 pm

    “It reminded me of an abstract painting: I could have made this dish myself at home, but the point is, I didn’t. They did. ”
    –this says so much, thanks for posting these, i enjoy your reviews.

Leave a Reply

