Skip to content

Great News From Doughnut* Doldrums

September 25, 2007

So what if you all failed me in my gallant crusade to keep Sister’s McMullen serving doughnuts forever?  You still have a chance to redeem yourselves by voting for me in one to three categories on this page for the Blogasheville awards.  I will forgive you then. 🙂

Besides, to every cloud, there is a sugary frosting.  Or something like that.  The point, my friends, is this:

Dunkin’ Donuts is coming to Merrimon Avenue!!!!!!!! 

(Where the laundrymat used to be in the BP by Weaver Park.)

Of course you can take the girl out of the North, but you can’t take the Dunkin’ Donuts, Stuffed Pizza and Chicago Hot Dogs out of the girl.  EVER. 

Perhaps I’ll do a blog signing at the Dunkin’ Donuts on its opening day.  Have you ever heard of a blog signing?  It’s where you bring your laptop, printout, or extremity, and I sign it. 

Gourmet Grrl

*A Disclaimer:  When I speak of doughuts, I am never ever talking about the plasticine, glazed, bready numbers from Krispy Kreme.  I am referring to cake doughnuts, substantial and thick, melty when you dip them in coffee, lusciously topped with chocolate, powdered sugar, or cinnamon.  Preferably made within three hours of coming in contact with my lips. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2007 11:59 pm

    Tim Hortons is where its at.

  2. September 26, 2007 12:51 am

    yes, the Dunkin will be dangerous. I mourned the Sisters M when they left their Merrimon location, which was on my way to about everywhere. But I suppose it was good for my waistline.

    Dunkin does have the best cheap coffee in the universe.

  3. September 26, 2007 3:43 am

    When I lived in New Haven there was a Dunkin on every corner – I didn’t get it until I mentored a girl whose mom worked at one and we ended up there many an afternoon. The mom always gave me a hot apple fritter – crispy on the outside (love those little nubbins!) and gooey sweet on the inside. Heaven.

Leave a Reply

