Skip to content

I’d Like to Thank the Academy. . .

October 1, 2007

Hooray! She Who Eats received accolades in two categories:

Best post for Attention, Asheville Tourists

and

Best New Blog!

Yippee!!!!  I have deepest love and gratitude for all who voted for me.  You like me, you really like me.  I will do my best to keep your interest forever more.  I hope in the voting process, you caught a glimpse of some other neato local blogs. 

I don’t have much time to post, but I’ll leave you with this small ‘nugget’ of info:

There are only two places in Asheville where one can buy Mexican Coke, to my knowledge.  Mexican Coke is superior to American Coke because it’s made with sugar instead of corn syrup.  Once you try it, you may never go back. 

Limones (more on that in a later post)

Taqueria on Haywood Rd down the street from West End Bakery

In case anyone is craving this crisp, non-sticky sweet glass bottled beverage, head on over to one of these treasure troves and I guarantee you’ll find that and a lot more.  By the way, I believe all soda should be served in glass bottles.  Kudos to the Grey Eagle for their ice cold RC cola in a bottle.  It’s the little things, you know?

Update:  Are you reading the comments page?  Because my readers are experts of the Asheville food scene as much as I am.    For example, they know where else to buy Mexican Coke, and also the real names of the taquerias I seem to lose faster than a white sock.  They rock!

And I’m a poet and didn’t realize it! Ha.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim Jenkins permalink
    October 1, 2007 12:56 pm

    Congratulations Gourmet Grrl on your well deserved recognition. It was wonderful to meet you in person. Now, on to business.

    A while back you mentioned a place that had opened recently that made fresh tortillas. Despite investing in a pretty good press I seem incapable of making a good basic corn tortilla. I’d love to try the fresh ones made by capable hands and wonder if you could post the name and location of the place?

  2. October 1, 2007 1:30 pm

    Congrats on your awards Saturday night. This is my first visit to your blog, and I’m loving it! You have great taste (case in point: Taquería Gonzales on Haywood Rd. is phenomenal!)

    I’ll ditto Jim’s request for the name of the tortilla place; someone at work told me about it, but I’ve yet to find it.

  3. October 1, 2007 2:29 pm

    Congrats, Gourmet Grrl!! You may soon be receiving complimentary dishes from eager-to-please establishment owners if you keep this up!
    G

  4. Lucy permalink
    October 1, 2007 7:09 pm

    I am a new fan, having only discovered your blog in about the last month or so…but I am loving it. Congratulations!

    I also wanted to add that the New Bridge Market on Tunnel Road in East Asheville sells Mexican Coke. It’s a great little market, you should check it out.

  5. October 1, 2007 6:44 pm

    Newbridge Country Market does rock, Lucy! They also sell yummy handmade frozen ravioli from Pastas and Provisions in Charlotte. Greenlife recently has also picked up this ravioli, but they are pricing it higher than Newbridge and they don’t have the variety that Newbridge carries.

Leave a Reply

