Skip to content

Surly and Starving

October 10, 2007

Sadly but surely, the climbing numbers on my scale are requiring I focus a little less on eating food and more on sharing it with others.  One way to center on abundance rather than lack in times of necessity is to spend money on food for the community.  In the spirit of giving, I would like to suggest that each of you join me in donating food or money to my favorite local food bank, Loving Food Resources, located in Kenilworth.  Loving Food Resources donates food to people living with HIV/AIDS and people in hospice.  They are nice and do great work in the community.  I can tell you first hand they donate quality, well-balanced food boxes to folks in need.  If you give them a call, they can even tell you what specific foods they need at this time. 

While not spending money or time on food for my own self, I’ll be at the gym.  If you see me, don’t say hi.  I don’t own cute workout clothes and I don’t like “saying hi” at the gym.  I won’t be reading the New Yorker food issue on the treadmill, either.  I’ll be reading something much, much worse.  So I’m not going to be Mensa’s newest recruit.  So what?  Oh, fun fact.  The next local Mensa meeting is this Saturday afternoon at the North Asheville Library.  They will be offering I.Q. tests for those who think they’ve got what it takes.  I think Mensa is funny and I wanna crash that meeting.  Who’s down?

I guess I could tell you about all the salad and egg whites I’ve been eating, or the ongoing jedi-mind war I’m fighting with the complimentary box of Mrs. Field’s at my workplace, but let’s face it:  Who cares? 

I do, however, have an update in the journey to tortillas.  The tortilleria in West Asheville is called Mister Suave!!!  The best named business anywhere in WNC!  The excitement builds and I feel I’m getting closer. . .

Oh, and I’ll be posting from San Antonio Texas, soon.  Perhaps another collaborative food review is in our future! 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2007 3:15 pm

    Thanks for the name of the tortilla place. Any idea where it is in West Asheville? A Google search for “Mister Suave” and “Asheville” brings up one hit: this very blog entry.

  2. October 11, 2007 3:27 pm

    I’m working on it. However, I can’t work on it from San Antonio so I’ll have to get back to you next week. Thanks!

  3. October 12, 2007 11:08 am

    Hot dog! I found it! 1563-A Patton, according to this article in the Xpress: http://www.mountainx.com/dining/2007/080107food

  4. October 17, 2007 9:52 am

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

