Skip to content

More About Doughnuts, etc.

October 29, 2007

I can’t stop thinking about Dunkin’ freakin’ Donuts.  Come on, already.  Foot tapping commences.  I’m just writing to tell you two things.

One:  Sister’s McMullen still rocks hard.  We ordered a ginormous sheet cake from them with raspberry filling for a baby shower and fed over forty people for only $30!  They finally explained themselves about the whole issue of the terrible gaping doughnut abyss in our fair ville.  The minute they found out Dunkin Donuts was on the horizon, they cashed it in.  They’re doing just fine in the cake business, apparently.  They don’t mind I don’t like cupcakes, because there’s a whole lot of people who like cutsy and frilly.

Two:  I never even ate very many doughnuts when they had them, not nearly as many as I should have, anyway.  But now.  Now I am knee deep in yet another example of HBO’s shining beacon of programming, The Wire.  This show is pure genius, and the dramatically huge cold I’m been recovering from is totally worth the marathon I’ve allowed myself these past two days.  The point is this show is totally Baltimore, complete with crab cakes, endless amounts of Utz Crab Spice potato chips and Dunkin Donuts.  Lots and lots of Dunkin Donuts.  All the time.  On the other end of the tube.  If only I were Mike TV.  Imagine.

One last thing.  I had a great meal at Mela the other day.  Really great.  I mean, I obviously like it because I keep eating there like every week.  And dosas are part of the lunch menu, not the lunch buffet as I thought.  Apparently they are huge, beastly things.  I will try one soon, promise. 

One more thing.  Sorry I can’t stay on a train of thought.  Is there such a thing as too much sleep?  Anyway, I made a fabulous meal the other night. 

  • Pork Chops from a local farm.  Sauteed with garlic, olive oil, onions, salt and pepper.  Nothing more.
  • Sauteed chunks of butternut squash, cooked in butter with fresh parsley and lots of coriander 
  • Collard greens with vinegar and Tobasco
  • Mashed fingerling and new potatoes with green onions, buttermilk, and butter.  Salt and pepper, of course.  Skins on. 

My last totally local meal for quite some time.  Unless I can live on a pickle a day till April. Adios, Sugar Creek Farm.  Until next year. 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2007 10:14 am

    I actually took my kids, in their pajamas, to see if the Dunkin was open on Saturday morning. Since it wasn’t, we had to go buy Krispy Kremes at Ingles. Total bummer. I didn’t even eat one.

    Thanks for your comment, which I accidentally erased! I’ve had to enable comment moderation, and I’m not used to it yet.

  2. catma permalink
    October 29, 2007 10:32 am

    DD’s french crueller with chocolate glaze is the only donut worth it’s naughtiness in my not-so-humble opinion. AND… a good coffee- esp. iced in the summer w/cream.

  3. October 29, 2007 11:47 am

    Rumor has it that this Wednesday (Oct. 31) is the last day for Rio Burrito. Very sad.

  4. October 29, 2007 12:29 pm

    Whaa??!! Thanks Jer, for the info. This is sad. Wow, I guess there is such a thing as too many burritos for one hippie town. I have to admit their prices were a little steep for my rare burrito excursions, but damn they made a great honkin’ burrito. Any news of the replacement? Pottery Barn or something?

  5. October 29, 2007 1:20 pm

    It’s official: we went to the downtown Rio Burrito for lunch, and they said Wednesday is their last day. At least it’s being replaced with something downtown doesn’t have: a burger joint. The South Asheville Rio Burrito location will remain open.

  6. October 29, 2007 10:44 pm

    I was looking for dosa on the buffet as well. Was actually relieved they weren’t on the buffet as they really aren’t a buffet thing. They need to be as freshly made as you can get them.

    I’ve not tried one yet… its hard to turn down the buffet. But, I will soon.

    The table next to me on Sunday had several comped dosas that were merely tasted and then sent back to get boxed (the diners had been eating buffet) and they looked very well made. I saw the spinach and the masala dosa.

    I might just have to eat at Mela on Saturday and Sunday lunch this weekend so I can have buffet one day and a dosa on the other. I used to have this quandary in Columbia SC where I usually opted for dining four days a week.

  7. October 31, 2007 2:58 pm

    I shrank in embarrassment as my toddler pointed to the bakery case at Safeway today and hollered, “I want a doughnut!!” Of course, I could completely relate.

Leave a Reply

