Skip to content

Triumph and Victory!

November 9, 2007

Oh Joy!  The following post is a dazzling example of how a vocal minority can move mountains.  Unlike a reticent, apathetic majority who can forfeit both good sense and progress like we saw in our local elections last Tuesday.  If I know you and you didn’t vote, be ashamed and don’t complain when they put a Gap on Lexington Ave.  ‘Nuff said.

Back to the good news of small town unity and motivation at its best:  There I was, stuffed in my seat late last night, nestled in the bright lights of Asheville’s The Noodle Shop, peeling off layers as I warmed myself from the frigid night air.  Opening the menu, I heaved a great sigh, knowing I would only find the meager, ragged options I have tasted so many times before.  I inquired into the day’s specials:  A sizzling beef platter and crispy flounder.  Explaining the sauce of the beef platter to me, my waitress referenced the famed Mongolian Beef sauce, now a special menu item of yesteryear.  My lip nearly quivered when she spoke its name out loud, that flawless orchestral symphony of sweet sugar and red-hot spice, those crisp onions, that thinly grilled beef.  She left me alone to wallow in the self pity only a small town epicure can truly enjoy.  Don’t get me going:  Why don’t we have a Vietnamese restaurant, where’s the Ethiopian food, how can Thai and sushi respectably be served at the same restaurant?  Woe is me. 

And then:  I noticed something I had never seen before on the Noodle Shop’s menu.  A mu shu dish.  Was that new?  Could they have added new items?  Am I not destined to order the same thing over and over until death or relocation do us part?  My eyes travelled down the page, hope against hope, biting my lip and rubbing my hands together as though in some kind of gluttonous prayer.  Sure enough, there it was, Lo and Behold:  Mongolian Beef is now a regular menu item at the Noodle Shop!!!!! 

Immediately I lept from my seat, running to hug the owner.  I jumped, I cheered, I applauded.  His reply:  “Everybody just kept asking for it.”  So today, I humbly sit before you to bow and tip my hat low and tell you, Asheville Reader, thank you, thank you, thank you for all you have done to make this dream a reality.  I hope you will amply reward your trusty shop owner by ordering this fabulous meal and letting him know you appreciate its constant presence on their menu. 

If we could only bring this kind of mass participation and energy to getting our bills signed into laws or our candidates voted in, imagine what a town this could be!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. the dj permalink
    November 9, 2007 3:56 pm

    Mongolian Beef is definately one of the Noodle Shop’s Best dishes. Congrats Gourmet Grrl on stirring up the famished masses. Now if we can just get a good Thai restaurant…

  2. Pixiedyke permalink
    November 9, 2007 5:18 pm

    I walked from work up to the Thai place on Patton last week. My Spicy Veggie Delite was tasty, but the soup tasted weird, like fruity and spicy at the same time. Have you been there? Is that the way it’s supposed to taste? Should I just stick to walking to Tomato for my “exercise lunches?”

  3. November 9, 2007 10:14 pm

    Congratulations! So glad you made the effort. I’ll be there soon.

  4. queen kirstifa permalink
    November 11, 2007 8:45 pm

    Pixie Dyke,

    Enjoy Thai Express for what it is but watch out–it is to Thai food what Taco Bell is to Mexican. Let’s just say I’m not thanking them for the memories about an hour afterwards if you catch my drift (which is quite a deadly drift if I’ve just eaten Thai Express). Enjoy it for pure slutty goodness, but don’t expect to respect yourself afterwards.

  5. queen kirstifa permalink
    November 11, 2007 8:48 pm

    and to GG, I just wanted to give you props for your humorous summation of the pain of bearing an appetite that is in converse proportion to the size and refinement of your city.

  6. Stacey permalink
    November 15, 2007 5:46 pm

    This is such a great story! Hooray for Gourmet Grrl! Camille and I going to Noodle Shop tomorrow night and I’ll have the Mongolian Beef. And I’ll let them know who sent me. 🙂

    Then we go to see The Darjeeling Express. Can’t wait! Thanks for inspiring a great evening!

  7. Jim Jenkins permalink
    December 9, 2007 1:20 pm

    Wow Cheat! Are you saying that you don’t like the Mongolian Beef?

  8. the dj permalink
    December 9, 2007 8:09 pm

    Indeed Cheat, what kind of spam laden dribble do you fry up for breakfast?

  9. December 11, 2007 1:33 pm

    I leave for four days and my blog is attacked by crazy rightous fundamentalists!

    Censorship rules. Well, not generally. Only when I’m in charge.

Leave a Reply

