Skip to content

This Just In: Gourmet Grrl In Print!

November 28, 2007

This DIY food writer has finally hit the Bigtime.  Check out this week’s food column in The Mountain Xpress for my collaborative restaurant review with Hanna Rachel Raskin.  Together we reviewed The Sunnyside Cafe in Weaverville.  New York Times, here I come! 

If you are new to SheWhoEats, keep in mind the active participation aspect of a blog.  Comments are welcomed and encouraged.  As for the rest of you, keep up the good work of sending out insightful suggestions and well-informed criticisms. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2007 10:26 am

    hey congratulations! It was a fine read of a good place. BTW Helen and i went to Picknicks which, 10 years ago was a wonderful simple-fare place but now has turned evil as the crust forming on the chicken gravy. Uggghhh.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. November 29, 2007 10:31 am

    Congratulations, Gourmet Grrl! Is this the beginning of your eventual penetration of all Asheville media?

  3. Bruce permalink
    November 30, 2007 11:10 pm

    Good for you Grrl!

    But, if you continue to write for food as they say-be aware of the so called columnists who write honestly and those who are looking for a free meal.

    The lady you speak of in the Xpress has NEVER written a bad article on a restaurant that I have seen and you must be aware of those who write subjectively and those who do not.

    All I am saying is that an opinion is good but an opinion that has some subjective professionalism is even better.

    Just Remember “The Man Who Ate Everything ” and you will know what I am talking about.

    For goodness sakes, tell us if you hated a dish in the same manner as if you loved a dish! Food readers are not the houswives that saturated the market in the past.

    WE read as if we are going to learn something new. I throw out a piece of parchment if it is the same hum drum, nialistic, half hearted oppinionated gesture that we recieve from most food journalists.

    Be specific, be not afraid to show your oppinion and I will read what you have to say!

    Writing about food is hard to do and how can you tell someone how it tastes, how it has been made, and so on and so forth without knowing what your reader expects?

    I write about food and I am a Chef, Culinary School and everything and I will never tell a person how it should or would happen.

    Again all I ask is that you do not fall short of a subjective career in which you tell the truth.

    I will leave you with the point that if you do not stamp your approval or disapproval of the subject matter,then you can certainly go back to your Molekine notebook and scratch off The New York Times.

  4. December 1, 2007 10:25 am

    Thanks for your feedback, Bruce. Wow, I guess I wasn’t expecting criticism about a relatively favorable review. I definitely see your point. I will admit a little gunshyness with my first print review. I do hope I was able to get the point across that with the exception of their pie selection, Sunnyside Cafe is b-o-r-i-n-g. I’m still getting my feet wet here, so I will take your advice into consideration. Thanks!

  5. December 2, 2007 6:22 pm

    Nice job, grrrl. I read the review on Wed. and liked the conversational style!

    I do think Mt. X lets the reviews ramble on for too long, however. I find myself skimming through and only reading the parts that are actually relevant to food. Remember there’s an art to writing short and well.

    You go, grrrl!

  6. December 2, 2007 9:24 pm

    And yet the Citizen-Times reviews are too brief to be substantial. There’s a middle ground somewhere, and I vow to find it.

Leave a Reply

