Skip to content

Christmas Dinner Out

December 17, 2007

Hey y’all.  Due to some difficult family circumstances having nothing or perhaps everything to do with food, my blogging energy is currently waning.  I will be back in action very soon, but in the meantime, I invite you to this post of another local blogger who has thoughtfully illuminated for us some fancy shmancy Christmas Day dining options (For all you Jews, Pagans, Bottom Chefs, or Touristy Millionaires out there.)

As for me, I plan on making this my very first Christmas spent at a bar.  Christmas Eve in bars offers some darkly fascinating, often enlightening experiences that can end in any of the following: elation, hangover, new best friendship, depression, STD, or pregnancy.  I’m going to hope for the most former outcome on the Baby Jesus’ birthday, although I would accept elation+hangover and still experience that elusive sense of misanthropic accomplishment.   

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jim Jenkins permalink
    December 18, 2007 12:37 pm

    Having found myself in more than a few bars on Christmas Eve’s past, I highly recommend it for the people watching. this should be an especially interesting one as the moon will be full on Christmas Eve.

  2. December 18, 2007 3:00 pm

    I admit that I was feeling morbidly ironic when clicking over here today. I think it’s healthy to take blogging breaks in this, our overly-connected/not-really-connected early 21st Century world.

  3. December 18, 2007 5:36 pm

    Anyone know of other places that might be good and open? My mother is coming up and it will be just the two of us.

    I don’t quite want fancy schmancy. I just want standard good stuff.

  4. December 20, 2007 1:39 pm

    Harry Hood:

    I’ve done some calling around. Unfortunately, the only places open on Christmas are high-priced gourmet restaurants. La Catarina Trattoria is open on Christmas Eve, but they have a pre-set menu of all seafood, at $65 a seat. Last Christmas Eve I dined at Left Bank, but it is no more. Let’s just say I called most local restaurants to answer your question, and they were all closed. Sorry, buddy, looks like it’s either the Grove Park Inn or Denny’s.

  5. January 11, 2008 10:57 pm

    I didn’t end up going to a bar for Christmas. Instead, I went out for Chinese. The Noodle Shop was quaint and festive on Christmas, (no, they did not sing ‘Deck the Halls’ with Chinese pronounciation). I ordered pan-fried pork dumplings which were exquisitely cooked, and Bim Bam Bop, a traditional Korean rice bowl with grilled pork, some light veggies, and a soft-boiled egg. It was on special, and I loved the savory flavors of the egg yolk mixed in with everything- in fact I can’t get it out of my mind.

    Anyway I didn’t even drink that much, so here’s hoping next Christmas is more climactic in one way or another.

Leave a Reply

