Skip to content

Ode to Soup

February 20, 2008

Have I mentioned I love soup?  I long for an Asheville restaurant 100% devoted to the production of soup.  Imagine:  Every day for lunch, six or so homemade soup options, homeade breads, and salads.   A chowder, a seafood option, two vegetarian choices, a vegan soup, a beef soup, and a chicken soup.  Le sigh.  My dream come true. 

But we don’t currently enjoy such a venue, so here’s a wonderful article to augment your home cooking endeavors.  Thirty soups in under thirty minutes, and the few main ingredients you must keep stocked in your pantry to achieve these heartwarming gastronomic creations.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2008 3:11 pm

    Once upon a time in Asheville there was a restaurant, Stone Soup, that was exactly what you imagined! It was located where Mellow Mushroom is now. I was devastated to see it close! Check my page tomorrow, I will be posting a recipe for a super easy and very tasty fish soup.

    • Cindy D permalink
      February 12, 2011 4:27 pm

      I remember Stone Soup fondly, particularly their Hungarian Mushroom Soup. Does anyone have a recipe for it which comes close to that served at Stone Soup? For some reason I recall it as having beef or beef broth in it. It’s one of the best soups I ever ate.

      Cheers! Cindy D

  2. February 20, 2008 5:16 pm

    OMG, I think I ate their many years ago when traveling with my family while my sister looked at colleges. That place was the bomb! Aw, man! Sniff. Maybe if I click my heels three times. . .

  3. February 21, 2008 11:04 am

    Stone Soup is my child’s current favorite book. “Stone soup? That would be something to know about!” Maybe we should all hold stone soup parties in the depths of the February chill.

  4. Sam permalink
    February 21, 2008 5:00 pm

    Yes, I used to eat at stone soup often. They had great soup and sandwiches.

  5. queen kirstifa permalink
    February 29, 2008 1:15 pm

    hey, sorry i have neglected you for a while. it looks like hunter & suzy (sunflower catering) are going to be offering some soups at the fb co-op! he has a tasting with the mgmt next week. i think he is starting off with a vegan curried corn chowder, and also some dips and salsas. hopefully if it takes off they will offer more variety. i’ll let you know!

  6. Lucy permalink
    February 29, 2008 5:57 pm

    I remember Stone Soup growing up. It was in a couple other locations before it was at the Mellow Mushroom location including the Manor on Charlotte Street. It was a worker co-op and had great food. I still miss it.

  7. February 29, 2008 6:53 pm

    this is cool, count me a soup lover too. the minestrone i got at greenlife last week was so perfectly spicy and full of huge chunks of bright vegetables (carrots, squashes, tomatoes, just a few beans…a lot of others) i’ve been thinking about it ever since. and i had some great soup at laughing seed last week, it was some kind of hot and sour ginger stuff that clears the sinuses most deliciously!

  8. March 2, 2008 3:21 pm

    If you make it out to Black Mountain, give the Veranda Cafe a try. They have several homemade soup options. Here is a writeup I found:

    http://hendersonvilleepicurean.blogspot.com/2007/11/veranda-cafe-gifts-black-mountain.html

  9. March 14, 2008 4:36 pm

    I wish the Stone Soup would make a comeback. Or someone would open a soup place. I’d be the first to feature an image on A Year In Asheville…

    Thanks for standing up for soup.

  10. kendra permalink
    April 30, 2008 9:41 am

    If you worked at Stone Soup, or sat there for several hours a day smoking and playing chess, or wonder if you can get the recipe for sticky buns, there is a Stone Soup facebook group for you!

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=15526491764

    STONE SOUP: FOND MEMORIES & TORTURED GRIEVANCES

  11. February 23, 2009 5:24 pm

    My favorite Stone Soup version was the one at the Manor. So large and airy.
    I have many fond memories of lunch there with my dad. Good sandwiches.

  12. February 24, 2009 12:21 pm

    I consistently have wonderful experiences with Loretta’s daily soup offerings. Best egg salad sandwich in town, too. Yesterday I ordered a marvelous beef minestrone soup. Piping hot, hearty, almost like a goulash. Yum!

  13. jen permalink
    March 13, 2009 10:46 am

    Soup is the elixir of life. I could live on soup every day of the year! I make soup many times a week, year round.

    Yes I remember going to Stone Soup at the Manor Inn, and also at the old Pickle Barrel (now Mellow Mushroom) and also the little place on Wall Street. I remember always ordering soup and strawberry rhubarb pie. There was a older gentleman named Tom who used to hang out there and he always gave my girls cookies (he called himself the cookie monster).

    Soup offerings around town? Sometimes Laughing Seed comes up with a wonderful soup and Rezzas is usually good but otherwise I have no soup mecca….my soups win out.

Trackbacks

  1. Fish Dill Soup | Girl Talks Kitchen

Leave a Reply

