Skip to content

Local Recipe

June 5, 2008

Sheesh, let’s all take a deep breath and get back to food.  And please remember, free will applies, even on this food blog.  You don’t ever have to take any of my suggestions-ever.

But if you want to, here’s a locally produced recipe we cooked up last night.

Pasta, goat cheese, spring garlic, spinach, turnips and steak.  Grilled the steak, sauteed the veggies, and boiled the pasta.  Threw it all together for a satisfying, thirty-minute supper.  So the pepper and olive oil weren’t altogether local. I’m working on it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. the dj permalink
    June 10, 2008 10:15 am

    I’d just like to take a moment to mourn the passing of Limones’s Sunday Brunch. I love the restaruant’s look at night, homespun with a wizened sophistication. However, dinner at Limones was a rare luxury. Sunday morning brunch offered a noticeably more affordable and equally inventive menu. I could go on about the menu but I would simply highlight my staples – a wonderful ceasar salad, delicious coffee, killer mojitos, a descent mole sauce, great cevice, and rich scrumptious hot chocolate and churros. I could usually count on well prepared favorite dishes or new flavors.
    As for the ambiance, Limones’s sun streaked dark wood and brick was a comfort to the weary Saturday night eyes. The waitstaff was attentive but not stifflingly so I could eat alone with my Sunday times and be undisturbed or have a great afternoon date with my wife and chat with friends. Patronwise, Sunday seemed to lean more local, a bit under the tourist radar. . Thanks again Limones. Here’s hoping you bring back the brunch down the road.

  2. queen kirstifa permalink
    June 22, 2008 12:09 pm

    what?! this is sad, sad news to me. this was the only time i could ever afford to eat out at my favorite restaurant. sigh. the woes of eating on a working slave wage in a tourist town…

Leave a Reply

