Skip to content

Hot and Bothered

July 23, 2008

Riding my bike back to the office after a decadent mid-week lunch with the girls, I got to thinking.  I also got to sweating and teetering.  Perhaps related to the 95 degree heat, or maybe it was the bloody mary that had accompanied my steak and gruyere on baguette at Table.  Whatever the cause, I huffed and heaved and teetered my way into cycler road rage.  This is not where I wanted to be in one of the most biker-unfriendly towns in America.  Oh sure, we’d all like to think “Life is Good” for our cute little cyclists whistling as they careen by, but I’m afraid it ain’t so.  I have been honked at, had trash thrown at me, and have been run off the road in the mere month I’ve been attacking these brutal mountain roads with my lovely,  benign, seafoam green cruiser.  And there’s a bike lane on College St. that lasts about ten feet.  That predicament confounded everyone on the road and we almost had a 5 alarm bike/car/pedestrian pileup.  Biking in Vancouver, B.C. was a baby pool compared to this olympic sized defeat of city planning.  There.  End of rant.

My point was that, in addition to succumbing to biker road rage, I had been thinking.  Yesterday I finally opened Julie and Julia, that clever little hardcover penned by a secretary/blogger pushing 30 who decided to cook everything in Mastering the Art of French Cooking for no apparent reason.  This has led to worldwide fan devotion, a book deal, and a movie deal.  I can’t even get my dinner paid for! 

Anyway, the point is, Julie Powell’s voice is very specific, and distinctive.  This whole Julia Child thing is an angle.  She’s quite revealing about her personal life, more than I’m willing to be in this small town.  I’ve eaten in all the good local restaurants.  I don’t really have motivation or inspiration to cook very often.  I can’t garden.  So where do I go from here?  That is the current question on the table.  If you have any thoughts or responses, send them my way.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2008 12:20 am

    Your voice is also distinctive, relevant and interesting. Let’s see…you could take the “food” topic to the next level of how do we manage to put it in our mouths in this age of high costs and low salaries. You could write about the various kinds of food sharing you do. You could elicit guest posts from area chefs and bakers. You have a lot to say and I, for one, love hearing it.

  2. candlerpark permalink
    July 24, 2008 6:23 am

    You seem to be in the same boat as my old college roomie. He has recently developed an appreciation for all things FOOD, but he works for a giant media company in Atlanta and has no food industry experience. He is tinkering with a way to merge the passion thing and career thing. His blog is:

    http://www.akafrankgreen.com/blog.html

    Oh yeah…and he also navigates the mean streets of Atlanta by bike

Leave a Reply

