Skip to content

Comfort Food

July 28, 2008

When faced with extreme stress or devastation, I tend towards meat and potatoes.  Meatloaf, mashed potatoes, sweet corn, or pretty much anything on the menu of the Moose Cafe.  Sometimes quantity matters more, and I simply go for the Mela lunch buffet to gorge and be somewhere pretty while doing so.  I suppose homecooked food is best, though not by me.  What foods comfort do you turn to when you’re down and out?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2008 7:08 pm

    This week, it was vegetarian Indian buffett. Delicious, endlessly available and pretty. Plus, they like to coo at my baby – no trace of snooty sneers.

  2. July 30, 2008 12:03 pm

    My traditional down-and-out binge is a pint of Ben & Jerry’s or Julie’s. The binge of millions. That or a pan of brownies — and I DO mean a PAN.

  3. July 30, 2008 5:54 pm

    For a quick comfort-food fix, I’m with Jennifer on the ice cream. When I’m cooking a meal (or going out for one) and need comfort food, it’s breakfast, no matter the time of day.

  4. July 31, 2008 12:12 pm

    And I’m with Jeremy on the breakfast.

  5. Brian permalink
    August 1, 2008 2:13 pm

    A huge bowl of Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream always sets my mood right. That and a good visit with friends?

  6. eemilla permalink
    August 1, 2008 11:24 pm

    Chocolate; chocolate ice cream with huge chunks ala Ben & Jerry’s or just plain old chocolate ice cream; hot cocoa in the winter (not the powered stuff); Nutella toast; or if I’m a bit angry I like to throw in some ginicolada in the summer (Meyers, Malibu, & maybe a splash of pineapple) or maybe a simple Manhattan (hold the cherry and bitters). Cooking when I am upset is just a waste of energy as even the simplest dishes are out of my ability.

  7. August 4, 2008 6:16 pm

    Cheese. Mac & cheese or a lovely welsh rarebit. Or just a big wedge of gooey brie with an apple and black pepper crackers. Or, if I really need comfort, Mexi cheese dip in large quantities.

Leave a Reply

