Skip to content

101 Summer Salads

July 22, 2009

God, I love Mark Bittman.  Yes, this article was in the Times.

Now is the PERFECT time to make any one of these simple, fresh, delightful 101 Salads.   Follow that link.  Now.  Do it.

Also, last night I made Meggyleves, the Hungarian sour cherry soup.  It’s sweet, cool, refreshing, tart, zany, and best of all. . . magenta.

sourcherrybyZugloiLanylo Meggyleves soup:  mix fresh (or canned) sour cherries with 2.5 cups of cherry juice.  Add half a lemon and a single cinnamon stick, and 1/5 a teaspoon of kosher salt.  Boil, then simmer for 5 minutes.  In a separate bowl, whisk together 8 oz of sour cream and hot cherry juice.  Add that into the soup, mix it all together, and chill.  Ready to eat in 2 hours.

I used bing cherries instead of sour, pomegranite/blueberry juice instead of cherry, and 2 cinnamon sticks instead of 1.  My soup was entirely too sweet, and so instead having it as a refreshing appetizer course, we just enjoyed it for dessert.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2009 10:14 pm

    Never have I ever. Cherry soup? Certainly not. Could it be…? Why, yes. Yes. Yes! Misunderstood like a middle child, perhaps, yet that much more amazing.

  2. Forest Davenport permalink
    July 23, 2009 3:36 pm

    I think that Mark Bittman writes for the New York Times, just so no one is confused.

    Forest

  3. harryhood permalink
    August 9, 2009 12:20 am

    I tried this today and it turned out very well. I really enjoyed it.

  4. thedj permalink
    September 14, 2009 2:23 pm

    I feel I say this every month but welcome back gourmetgrrl. Curras has a wonderful vibe with the patio. I hope it will last through the winter. Glad to hear about the ‘Monk going south. It’s a good test for the niche beer market out there. I heard Asheville’s getting a Spring beer fest thing next year. We Ashevillians do like to drink in public.

Leave a Reply

