Skip to content

Reverse Trick-or-Treat

November 3, 2009

It’s time you learned something here at SheWhoEats.  From this point forward, I plan to get all political on ya.  Well, not completely.  But I do consider myself an activist for social justice and equal rights for all, yet this constantly brings me back to wrestle with a single conundrum:  Should I be focusing energy toward my community, my nation and world to create institutional change that will save lives and heal the world, or should I, Barbara Kingsolver style, live exactly how I preach it, and simply through living my ideas, achieve spiritual nirvana (and possibly get a book deal)?  Generally I do a little of both and thus accomplish neither goal, not world healing nor spiritual enlightenment.  Here’s yet another baby step.

Equal Exchange World Map of Farm Co-ops

You should know about the Equal Exchange Co-op. They are an amazing cooperative based out of West Bridgwater, Massachussetts.  Their mission:

is to build long-term trade partnerships that are economically just and environmentally sound, to foster mutually beneficial relationships between farmers and consumers and to demonstrate, through our success, the contribution of worker cooperatives and Fair Trade to a more equitable, democratic and sustainable world.

They’ve been around for 20 or so years, and although they began with coffee, their products have expanded to chocolate, nuts, berries, and more.  They work with churches to foster interfaith and community support for wholesale coffee and other foods, and they have developed curriculum for kids to learn about fair trade and how it works.  This is a visionary, successful organization worth supporting.

Here’s the best part:  Their coffee and their chocolate are some of the most delicious I have ever tasted.  Seriously, I’ve been eating their chocolate all week as part of a Reverse Trick-or-Treat program, where kids give out Equal Exchange chocolates and pamphlets to get the word out about the co-op.  Their spicy hot cocoa is insanely amazing.  So start buying your coffee, snacks, and chocolate from Equal Exchange.  I love putting my money where my mouth is, don’t you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

