Skip to content

Resolutions

January 4, 2010

I resolve to post twice a week- at least!   Starting now. 

With family in town, it was time to reconnect with my kitchen.  I made the pineapple chipotle ham that was featured in last month’s Saveur Magazine.  I have pictures, and I’ll try to download them soon.  Also, I picked up a new home cooking fun fact!  When boiling chipotle peppers at a high temp as I did for the glaze, open some windows and turn on the fans.  The fam nearly lost their collective appetite after wheezing and coughing for 20 minutes as the glaze reduced at high heat.  Then I lost my nerve when my mom declared she wasn’t eating anything too spicy.  In the end I didn’t spread the glaze on thick enough, and it only barely flavored the monstrous ham I had purchased.  But I think the cola I added to the pan in the beginning did it’s job to infiltrate during the roasting process.   Plus, pineapple rings stuck with 64 cloves (and not a clove more) did look pretty spectacular coming out of the oven. 

Anyway, I’ll try to post a picture.  I’ve also been down with some general illness, but after a fairy tale-worthy five day slumber, I awoke to discover that Curras is closing!  Could this be??  I returned from my sojourn to Austin,TX  last summer to realize what a gem Curras is in the heart of Appalachia, bringing micheladas and breakfast tacos to us southeasterners like we were all lone stars on the inside.  Why, oh why couldn’t they have opened in West Asheville on Haywood Rd., where they would have done gangbusters as opposed to the slowly dying Woodfin, ground zero for mountain top removal and random specialty cheese shops?  Honestly, I was so looking forward to spending my summer afternoons on their patio, I don’t know what I’ll do now.  Move to Austin, I guess?  On the cheerful food front, check out the Katmandu Cafe on Patton Ave downtown, and Cook Out on Tunnel Road.  More on those coming soon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. suzy permalink
    January 6, 2010 12:28 am

    I have three things to say. 1) Never move to Texas. They will succeed eventually. 2) The random cheese shop you speak of is my former employer, and I have to credit them with my cheese snobbery. Their manchego–heck, ALL of their french and spanish sheep’s milk cheese are incredible. And 3) If you haven’t had a peanut butter-banana milkshake from CookOut yet, run don’t walk.

Leave a Reply

