Skip to content

Asheville’s Culinary Rumor Mill

January 6, 2010

Wow, I have family in town, sleep for five days, and awake to find Asheville’s gastronomic scene shifting faster than a couple of tectonic plates in Cali.  Okay, so now my fact-finding partner-in-dine assures me that Curras Dom is not closing for good, as was previously reported.  Instead, they are closing for a an undisclosed amount of time while they renovate, change their menu slightly, enclose their patio, and reopen once again to friendlier climes.  All this according to owner Marcos Garcia.   I will cross my fingers and hope this is true, and we will all be treated to refreshing avocado margaritas come spring.

Savoy, a stalwart of Asheville’s fine dining scene, is scheduled to close on January 31, just before it’s 10 year anniversary.  Admittedly, I stopped dining at Savoy when they ended their lunch service about a year ago.  That was the only way I could afford their steep prices for delicious, but rather spare offerings.  I enjoyed their food, yet their prices crossed an ambiguous threshold for me, when food becomes too expensive to thoroughly enjoy.  For that kind of money I want sparks to fly out of my plate, or taste pairings I’ve never imagined, or some molecular gastronomical wonderworks.  Anyway they will reopen as a family style Italian restaurant called Vinnie’s.  Since I’m revisiting Season 1 of The Sopranos, I’ll probably be patronizing Vinnie’s quite often when it opens in mid-February.
Speaking of Merrimon Ave., I noticed the facade of Picnic’s looking unusually void of flare.  No human chicken, no rainbow flags, no larger-than-life glamour shot of “Mom” on the wall. Picnics, another longtime Asheville mainstay, has left the building.

With the bitter chill, bare trees and sparse budgets, these are difficult days for restaurants in a tourist town.  Although, some are doing better than ever this midwinter.  My family was in town and we waited in 30+ minute lines at both Papa’s and Beer and Sunny Point Cafe.  The daily crowds continue to gather at Mela, and I still had to wait for a table at Cucina 24 the other night.

Here’s hoping all of our wonderful, locally owned restaurants that make Asheville a unique dining experience make it through the hard winter.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 4:36 pm

    I don’t know if you’ve tried Kathmandu, the new Himalayan restaurant downtown, but it was delicious, affordable, and cozy when I went! The chai was good, the food was good, and while there still seem to be some “just opened” kinks to work out, it was an overall great meal. I look forward to comparing their samosas to Chai Pani’s!

  2. January 6, 2010 5:07 pm

    Brandi, I do plan on eating there, just as soon as I get my tastebuds back (a sinus infection has removed that entire sense from my life). Thanks for the 411!

  3. thedj permalink
    January 15, 2010 11:08 am

    Glad to see Curras clawing back into our culinary hearts. Thanks for the update GG!

Leave a Reply

